The Police Service Commission has approved the dismissal of nine senior Police Officers for gross misconduct. The dismissal takes immediate effect. The Commission also approved the reduction in rank of another six Officers for different cases of misconduct.
The Commission’s decisions were part of the outcome of its 5th Plenary Meeting which held in Abuja on 26th and 27th of March, 2019 and presided over by its Chairman, Musiliu Adeola Smith, a retired Inspector General of Police.
The Commission also approved the punishment of severe reprimand for 5 Officers and reprimand for another 5. One Officer, CP. Austin Agbonlahor was however exonerated.
Those dismissed were; Abdul yahaya Ahmed, a superintendent of Police who will also be prosecuted; Adamu Damji Abare, another SP who also had his promotion from SP to CSP withdrawn before his dismissal. The Commission further requested the IGP to furnish it with information on the punishment awarded to other officers mentioned in the Police Investigation Reports involving SP. Abare with regards to irregularities in the conduct of the 2011 Recruitment Exercise.
Others dismissed were; DSP Osondu Christian, DSP Samson Ahmidu and DSP Pius Timiala who will be prosecuted and whose promotion from DSP to SP was withdrawn. Four ASPs were also dismissed for various wrong doings. They are; Agatha Usman, Esther Yahaya, Idris Shehu and Usman Hassan Dass.
Oluwatoyin Adesope and Mansir Bako were reduced in rank from SP to DSP while Gbenle Mathew; Tijani Saifullahi; Sadiq Idris and Alice Abbah were reduced from the rank of DSP to ASP.
The Commission’s decisions have been conveyed to the Inspector General of Police for implementation in a letter signed by Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri, Permanent Secretary and Secretary to the Commission.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.