Section 29(b) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 provides that the Commission shall have not less than 7 or more than 9 members to be appointed for 5-year tenure in accordance with Section 155(i) (c) of the Constitution. Members of the Commission are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The composition of the Commission is reflective of Federal Character as provided for in the Establishment Act as follows:

  • Chairman, who shall be the Chief Executive of the Commission;
  • A retired Justice of the Supreme Court or Court of Appeal;
  • A retired Police Officer not below the rank of Commissioner of Police;
  • One representative each of: Women interest; the Nigerian Press; Non-governmental Human Right Organizations in Nigeria; Organized Private Sector and the Secretary to the Commission.

Hon.   - Commissioner I 

Hon. - Commissioner II

Hon.   – Commissioner III

Hon.  – Commissioner IV

Hon.  – Commissioner V

Hon. Chief Onyemuche Nnamani – Commissioner VI